Join us at our next regular song sharing meeting:

Third Tuesday of Every Month, 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Tippecanoe Arts Federation Address: 638 North St, Lafayette, IN 47901 (map)

Monday, April 27, 2015

Announcing the 2015 Songwriting Scholarship Winners!

Judging Results:

Shirley Martin Scholarship - Kelsey Patton, Perfectly Beautiful

1st Runner-up - Victoria Lawson, Falling Gracefully

2nd Runner-up - Tori Rosa, Don't You Worry About Me

Mike Lane Horizon Award - Erin Clouse, Indiana Home

The judging focused on many song components including melody, chord progression, song structure, rhythm, meter and lyrics. Entries were judged on songwriting abilities, not performance capabilities.

The First Place scholarship winner will receive a $500.00 cash prize to be used to help them in their songwriting endeavors. First Runner-up will receive $300, Second Runner-up will receive $200, and the Horizon Award winner will receive $100.  There are perks for all of the top promising songwriters including constructive feedback on their songs and opportunities to perform. 

This year’s winners will be performing their songs and accepting their awards on Tuesday, May 12th, 7:00 pm at the Tippecanoe Arts Federation building (TAF), 638 North Street in downtown Lafayette. Refreshments will be available, and the event is free and the public is welcome.



  1. Congrats to all who entered their songs and to the winners!

  2. Without music, scenarios on movies or even the world might be more boring. That is why song writers must also be given the proper recognition they need and scholarship grants is a way to give them the reward they deserve learn more.