Join us at our next regular song sharing meeting:

Third Tuesday of Every Month, 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Lower Level, Tippecanoe Arts Federation, 638 North Street Lafayette, IN 47901-1153 (map)

Sunday, January 29, 2017

2017 Shirley Martin Scholarship for Young Songwriters

 “A scholarship for the advancement of young songwriters”

Who- The Songwriters Association of Mid-north Indiana (SAMI)

What- Currently accepting applications for the 2017 Shirley Martin Scholarship for Young Songwriters, which includes the special Mike Lane Horizon Award. This scholarship and award exists for the purpose of developing, recognizing and supporting area youth in the advancement of their songwriting skills.

Who Can Apply- Candidates must be between the ages of 14 and 19 at the time of application and be a permanent resident of one of the following Indiana counties to apply: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Fountain, Howard, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Pulaski, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Warren and White.

When- Applications being accepted until March 31, 2017.

Winner Will Receive: 
1. $500 cash award to be applied toward the Shirley Martin Scholarship winner’s education, a musical instrument or other songwriting-supporting endeavor.  Other cash awards for runners-up and the Mike Lane Horizon Award.
2. Performance opportunities.
3. Local publicity.

How and Where to Apply:
Apply online or download a printable application, or write to:
The Tippecanoe Arts Federation
638 North Street
Lafayette, IN,  47901

 Distribution: Winners will be notified on or before May 1, 2017.

For additional information email TJ Rosa at

Friday, January 27, 2017


Officers for 2017:  We are soliciting so whoever is interested in participating in a SAMI position for 2017, please make this known by emailing  Your service is appreciated.

2017 SAMI Board
Scholarship Coordinators: Barrett Myers & TJ Rosa
New Venue Development
Web Image Consultant:

TWO Different Showcases to Get Involved In:

SAMI Songwriter Showcase is an audition-based series of concerts. SAMI and GLM Live have teamed up to raise money for the SAMI scholarships, and provide a unique show of the highest musical quality in a personable, intimate performance setting. The first show for 2017 will take place in mid March and performers have not been selected yet.  Anyone interested should apply by mid Feb to allow for publicity deadlines. Applicants must be at least 14 years of age (with written parental consent if under 18) and members of SAMI. Songwriters may apply by emailing the following to

1.) Two Original Songs (.mp3 format)
2.) Lyrics (.doc format)
3.) Live Performance Video (can be a private or unlisted YouTube link)
4.) Short Bio
All emails must have “Name - SAMI Songwriter Showcase Audition” written in the email subject.
Songwriters will be notified via email whether they are selected to perform in a showcase or not.
SAMI Songwriter Showcase - email to apply!

River City Playhouse - 6 concerts are planned for this year and managed by our very own TJ Rosa. The first showcase (that benefits our scholarship) will be Feb 2nd with Jeff Anderson and Hunter Patterson, $10 online in advance or $20 at the door, FB page,,

Funndraising DVD of the Jan 9, 2016 House Concert at the Delphi Opera House has been released and is available for purchase, $20 for both the DVD and CD combo package.  All proceeds go to SAMI if you purchase from SAMI and all proceeds go to the Delphi Opera House if you buy from them.  This is a really good concert and it supports 2 worthy causes.

2017 Shirley Martin Scholarship for Young Songwriters:  Stay tuned for updated deadlines and ways to help with this year’s songwriting scholarships.  Barrett Myers and TJ Rosa will be coordinating to get the ball rolling, and more info will be coming on how you can help.

Do the Dues! 
It’s time to collect SAMI’s annual dues.  SAMI is, and has always been, an all-volunteer, non-profit organization.  Any money collected from dues and donations goes directly to paying for the annual operating costs, like our monthly meeting space rental (pretty minimal) and the substantial payouts of the annual young songwriters scholarships in May. It takes roughly $1,500 each scholarship cycle, and we need your dues/and or donations! Dues are still only $20 per year and can either be handed to our treasurer, Michael Longcor, at a meeting, or mailed to TAF:

c/o Tippecanoe Arts Federation
638 North Street
Lafayette, IN 47901

February’s Song Challenge Ideas:
1. Love Song “Love is in the Air”
2. Anti-Love Song

The colder weather means more time spent indoors...might be a good time to start a new song.  See you at the February meeting.

Cheryl Fletcher
SAMI Secretary

Monday, January 16, 2017

7:30 PM

Tippecanoe Arts Federation
638 North Street
Lafayette, IN 47901
Bring 10-15 copies of your new song  to share
Get Directions

Song Sharing Meeting

We will meet in the room next to the kitchen on the lower level of TAF.  Get the latest news and share a song!

Get the Latest News:

  • Help decide the goals and direction of SAMI in 2017
  • Find out more about our songwriting scholarships
  • Time to collect the $20 annual dues from our membership
  • and more!
Don't forget to "like" SAMI on Facebook and post your upcoming gigs and share what's going on with you.

See you there!

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

All Ages Songwriting Contest at GLM Live! July 20th

GLM Live Songwriter's Competition With Special Guest Host, Rick Mummey is this Wednesday, July 20th!

Don't miss this great night.

First Place: $200.00 Cash, Fender Guitar, 1 1/2 hour songwriting consultation with Nicky Rood. Recording time with Michael Kelsey, and a headlining show at GLM Live.

Second Place: Guitar Stand and 1 hour songwriting consultation. Recording time

Third Place: 1/2 hour songwriting consultation with Nicky Rood. 2 Hrs recording time..

Must be Original Music. Each artist will perform songs in front of judges: Nicky Rood, Jason Wells and Johnny Bhive. Winners move to next round. Music must be live. Up to 2 people on stage at a time per song. Artist and one person to accompany them.

Doors open at 6pm  $5 cover. 
Competition starts 6:45.   
Contestants load in is 5 to 5:45.

Friday, July 08, 2016

Wabash Riverfest on Saturday July 9th

Come join SAMI from 9-3pm Saturday July 9th at Tappawingo Park in West Lafayette for live music during Riverfest!

Here is an updated schedule of performers:

SAMI RiverFest Performers:

9:00 - 9:25am -  Lee Anna Atwell

9:30 - 9:55am – Eric Hicks

10:00 - 10:25am – Annie Hatke

10:30 - 10:55am – Charis Vander Plaats

11:00 - 11:40am – Greg Jones

11:45 - 12:05pm - Jordan Friend

12:10 - 12:50pm – Mike Longcor

1:00 - 1:25pm – Travis Kearney

1:30 - 1:55 – Cheryl Fletcher

2:00 - 2:25pm – Jeff Anderson

2:30 - 2:55pm – Tori Rosa

Thursday, June 16, 2016

SAMI's President, Nicky Rood has announced that she will be coordinating a series of songwriter rounds at GLM Live (1624 Main Street, Lafayette) this year. These Bluebird Cafe inspired showcases will feature SAMI's top songwriters in this intimate venue. A large sum of ticket sales will contribute towards funding the annual SAMI scholarships for young writers. Our next show is June 25th at 7:30pm, featuring Jeff Anderson, Amanda Fletcher, Hunter Rayne, and Joe Peters. Mark your calendars now! There is limited seating, and tickets will be sold at the door for $20 on a first come, first served basis.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Congratulations to Our 2016 SAMI Scholarship Winners!

Shirley Martin Scholarship - Tori Rosa Terrible Liar

1st Runner-up - Gibson Wells Mr. Stranger

2nd Runner-up - Jessica Thomson I'll Write a Song

Mike Lane Horizon Award - Kierra Brooks A Country Girl's World

Honorable Mention - Hunter Patterson Are You Missing Me.


 Tori Rosa: Shirley Martin Scholarship Winner
 Gibson Wells: 1st Runner-Up
 Jessica Thomson: 2nd Runner-Up
 Kierra Brooks: Mike Lane Horizon Award
Hunter Patterson: Honorable Mention